My grade 4 exam took place on the 24th March 2015 or in other words, today, and was held at the Blackheath Conservatoire. I played 3 pieces; Prelude by Handel, Blues for Big Ears by Mark Nightingale and Twilight in Paris by Ned Bennett. The last of the three was a last-minute choice as I decided I didn’t enjoy the feel of Humoresque which was the alternative I had been working on. With only three weeks to go, my trumpet teacher introduced me to Twilight in Paris. I knew straight away that this was much more ‘me’.

Joe Thompson (whose Family Jazz Session I played at last month) accompanied me for two of the three pieces. A couple of the tips he gave me helped me perform well on the day.

Here they are…  

  1. For Prelude he told me to imagine I was playing on the balcony at a wedding as the bride and groom walked down the aisle to help capture the joyful feeling of this piece.
  2. For Twilight in Paris he suggested imagining a calm summer’s evening spent watching the world go by. 

Leave me a comment below to tell me about the tips that have helped you the most.

One thought on “

Leave a Reply

