In one of my previous posts, I wrote about Alison Balsom’s interpretation of Autumn Leaves. In this post however, I am going to be telling you about my interpretation of Alison’s version.

Blobby notes, no bar linesAfter receiving a CD of her latest album, Paris, last year, I decided to have a go at doing some transcribing to produce a written copy. So, with the help of my parents, I did. To do this involved sitting down, listening to the CD, pausing, matching the notes on my trumpet, writing,…again and again and again. This resulted in a whole page of notes without any time or key signature, no properly divided up bars, no crotchets, quavers, minims etc.

My trumpet teacher didn’t seem overly impressed with my blobby version!

Luckily for me though, someone at my dad’s school offered to help out. With my draft and the audio track he used some kind of software to create a piece of sheet music ready for me to use. The thing I think I have learnt from the process is that I am pretty good at matching notes, visualising them and playing by ear but that my weakness is recording note values. This gives me something to work on in the future.The printed version

See you next time when I will be posting more about what I think of the pTrumpet.

9 thoughts on “

  1. Love Autumn Leaves! How dedicated to work out every note tonally, and even better to discover the ways to continue the process of ascribing note values. What will you do next?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. My 4yo daughter is only starting to learn violin. I hope that she will have as much determination and passion for her music as you do. Very impressive. I wish you all the best.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. This is one of my favourite songs of all times. Do you like the original version by Kosma and Yves Montand? There’s also a brilliant tribute by Serge Gainsbourg called “La chanson de Prevert”.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. What a skill! I remember trying to notate music when I was studying for my A Level and it took such a lot of time and patience – impressive stuff! Good luck with developing your notation of rhythms and note values!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

