This will be my last post as an eleven year old as it is my birthday tomorrow!

At the weekend, I attended a masterclass with Mark Armstrong, Joe Thompson and Rob Rickenberg at The Conservatoire in Blackheath. Although I have been lucky enough to perform here before, the masterclass is an entirely new experience for me. Mark worked with the 3 trumpeters, the saxophonist and trombonist. During the session we each went through one piece of our own choosing and also participated in some aural activities.

The piece that I took along was The Samba Dancer from the ABRSM grade 5 jazz syllabus (included in the ABRSM Real Book) which I have been working on for a couple of weeks. The main piece of advice Mark gave me was to blow more air through the trumpet as I played the high notes. When I signed up for the masterclass, I hadn’t realised that might lead to performing in the Family Jazz concert that afternoon! Here’s the video of me performing (I’m playing the higher part)…

I’m on Instagram too. Click on the icon to follow me. Instagram

43 thoughts on “

  1. Wow! Thank you all so much for reading my post and taking the trouble to comment. It’s really kind of you. So far, I’m enjoying being 12 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

